Full list of League of Legends Worlds winners throughout the years

1Play LOL News
Nov 07

When we think of Worlds winners in League of Legends throughout the years, one name almost always comes to mind — Lee “Faker” Sang-hyeok.

The League of Legends Champions Korea (LCK) superstar has cemented himself as the greatest of all time in the scene, winning three Worlds titles in 2013, 2015, and 2016 together with his team SK Telecom T1 (now T1).

The Unkillable Demon King almost achieved his goal of becoming a four-time Worlds champion, but got swept by Samsung Galaxy in the final in 2017, and narrowly lost to DWG KIA 3-2 during the Worlds 2021 semifinals.

With T1 at the helm, LCK teams have dominated Worlds throughout the years. The Korean league has six World Championship titles, won by T1, Samsung White, Samsung Galaxy, and DAMWON Gaming.

In recent years, the League of Legends Pro League (LPL) has become a top contender for the Summoner’s Cup. Championship winners Invictus Gaming made history as the first LPL team to win Worlds in 2018, followed by FunPlus Phoenix in 2019, and Edward Gaming in 2021. The rise of the Chinese league is also evident at the Mid-Season Invitational (MSI).

*Figures are based on the minimum guaranteed prize pool of US$2,225,000. A percentage of in-game sales is yet to be added to these earnings.

Follow ONE Esports on Facebook and Twitter for more League of Legends news, guides, and highlights.

All comments (0)
No contentNothing here, please try again later.